Support for EPS QEOD student members
Support for students

QEOD aims to encourage the professional development of its youngest members. We, therefore, offer some limited financial support for students to attend EPS QEOD approved Summer Schools and also to attend QEOD-sponsored conferences, such as, e.g., the CLEO/Europe-EQEC meetings.

The EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards are attributed on behalf of the European Physical Society through the Quantum Electronics & Optics Division (QEOD) and the Young Minds Committee. The awards consist of travel grants and they are given to PhD Students who wish to attend a QEOD-sponsored conference and whose scientific contribution in optics and photonics is of the highest quality. The goal of this award is to help talented young scientists to contribute to QEOD-sponsored European conferences in optics by taking in charge part of their expenses to attend the conference.

A number of grants is made available every year from the budget of QEOD. Each award is accompanied by a certificate and a monetary sum. This can vary between 500! for PhD Students working in a country of the European Union (EU) and 1000! for PhD Students working outside EU. The grants are awarded to PhD Students having not yet defended their thesis at the dates of the QEOD-sponsored conference. Recipients must have an accepted oral or poster contribution at the conference. Only one grant is awarded per person and per research group. Applicants from developing countries usually receive a particular attention. Applications have to be done by using the online system for EPS conference submissions, where a special item points to the EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards.

Furthermore, QEOD may exceptionally help a few attendees (young as well as senior researchers) on simple request. Supports from 200! to 500! can be made available for participation at the EPS-QEOD meetings, limited to one award for participants from the same institution and to a total maximum of 10 awards. Applicants must be presenting a paper. Where there are more than two applicants from the same institution, awards will be made on a first-come, first served basis.