The EPS-QEOD Quantum Electronics and Optics Prizes:

Among its most prestigious prizes, the Quantum Electronics and Optics division (QEOD) of the European Physical Society (EPS) distributes the Quantum Electronics and Optics Prizes. These are the two senior EPS/QEOD prizes (one for fundamental, one for applied aspects) awarded for outstanding contributions to quantum electronics and optics. These Prizes, awarded in uneven years, recognize the highest level of achievements in fundamental and applied research in optical physics.

The EPS-QEOD Fresnel Prizes:

Two EPS/QEOD Fresnel Prizes are awarded for outstanding contributions to quantum electronics and optics made by young scientists before the age of 35 (as of December 31st, 2023). There is one prize for fundamental aspects and one prize for applied aspects.

The EPS-QEOD Thesis Prizes:

Since 2007 up to four EPS/QEOD Thesis Prizes are awarded to reward excellence in PhD research and scientific communication in the area of quantum electronics and optics related to a PhD thesis work defended in the period June 2021 – June 2023 (in the two years prior to the conference). These Prizes are awarded for fundamental and applied aspects. The prize winners are each to receive a diploma and 1000 euros.

Vladilen Letokhov Medal:

Established in memory of Vladilen Letokhov (1939-2009), former Vice-Director of the Institute of Spectroscopy of the Russian Academy of Sciences and pioneer in several fields of laser physics, the Letokhov Medal aims at recognizing outstanding contributions in laser-matter interaction, in particular spectroscopy of atoms and molecules, laser manipulation of atoms, and strong field processes. The prize consists of a medal, a certificate and a monetary award of 5000 euros.

The medal will be presented every odd year at a major conference alternatively sponsored by the Quantum Electronics and Optics Division and the Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics Division of the EPS.