you are here: Home QEOD Prizes QEOD Thesis Prizes  
Document Actions

QEOD Thesis Prizes

Since 2007 EPS/QEOD thesis prizes are awarded on a biennial basis for the best-nominated Ph.D thesis in the area of quantum electronics and optics submitted in the two years prior to the CLEO®/Europe-I(E)QEC meetings. These prizes are awarded for fundamental and applied aspects.

The call for nominations is open. Further information, see "open nominations".

EPS-QEOD Thesis Prize recipients:

Fundamental Aspects Applied Aspects
Bas Jorrit Hensen
Centre for Quantum Computation & Communication Technology, UNSW Sydney, Australia
for long-range entanglement of spins in diamond, unconditional quantum teleportation and the first loophole-free Bell test experiment, resulting in a significant rejection.

Achim Woessner
ICFO, The Institute of Photonic Sciences, Castelldefels (Barcelona), Spain
for graphene plasmons detected electrically and used to build ultra-compact modulators for the first time enabling applications in biosensing and mid-infrared integrated optics.
Marissa Giustina
University of Vienna, Vienna ; Insitute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information, Vienna, Austria
for the implementation of a loophole-free test of Bell’s inequalities using entangled photons, with an exceptionally high experimental and statistical accuracy.
Gustavo Villares
IBM Research GmbH, Zurich Laboratory, Rüschlikon, Switzerland
for his contributions to the invention of the quantum cascade laser frequency comb and its application to chip-based mid-infrared dual-comb spectroscopy.
Tim Langen
JILA, University of Colorado and NIST, Boulder, CO, USA
for his work on non-equilibrium dynamics of one-dimensional Bose gases.
Tobias Herr
Swiss Center for Electronics and Microtechnology (CSEM), Time and Frequency Division, Neuchâtel, Switzerland
for his work on solitons and dynamics of frequency comb formation in optical microresonators.
Søren Raza
Centre for Nano Optics at the
University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark
for his work on probing plasmonic nanostructures with electron energy-loss spectroscopy (EELS).
Pete Shadbolt
Quantum Optics & Laser Science Group, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Imperial College, London, United Kingdom
for his work on complexity and control in quantum photonics.
Pascal Del'Haye
PhD from Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU), Munich, Germany
Discovery and development of microresonator based frequency combs
Florian Kaiser
PhD from Université de Nice Sophia-Antipolis, Nice, France
Experimental study on photonic entanglement engineering and its application in quantum information technology and in fundamental quantum optics.
Thomas Monz
PhD from University of Innsbruck, Institute for Experimental Physics, Innsbruck, Austria
Quantum information processing beyond ten ion-qubits.
Clara Saraceno
PhD from ETH Zurich, Zurich / University of Neuchâtel, Neuchâtel, Switzerland
Cutting-edge high-power ultrafast thin-disk oscillators.
Simon Gröblacher
PhD from University of Vienna, Austria
Quantum opto-mechanics with micromirrors
Alberto Politi
PhD from University of Bristol, UK
Integrated Quantum Photonics.
Maiken H. Mikkelsen
PhD from University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Single electron spin dynamics in semiconductors
Pavel Ginzburg
PhD from Technion, Israel
Novel Nanophotonic Devices (joint with A. Hayat)

Albert Schliesser
PhD from Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany
Silica Whispering-Gallery-Mode Microresonators
Alex Hayat
PhD from Technion, Israel
Semiconductor quantum photonics (joint with P Ginzburg)
Fernando G.S.L. Brandao,
PhD from Imperial College London, UK
Quantum information theory
John C Travers,
PhD from Imperial College London, UK
Fibre supercontinuum generation
Alexei Ourjoumtsev,
PhD from Institut d’Optique/ University Paris XI, F
Novel quantum states of Light
Deran Maas,
PhD from ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Novel pulsed semiconductor lasers
Axel Griesmaier
University of Stuttgart, Germany
Dipole-dipole interaction in a degenerate quantum gas
Giuseppe Della Valle
Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy
Photonic devices at 1.5 µm manufactured by ion exchange and femtosecond laser writing
Jacob Sherson
Univ. of Århus and Univ. of Copenhagen, Denmark
Quantum memory and teleportation using macroscopic gas sample
Raúl Vicente Zafra
Universitat de les Illes Balears, Spain
Nonlinear dynamics and synchronization of bidirectionally coupled semiconductor lasers







Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: