you are here: Home QeodPrizes Fresnel Prizes  
Document Actions

Fresnel Prizes

These are the two EPS/QEOD prizes awarded for outstanding contributions to quantum electronics and optics made by young scientists before the age of 35. There is one prize for fundamental aspects and one prize for applied aspects.

“Fundamental Aspects”
The 2015 Fresnel Prize for fundamental aspects is awarded to Tim Hugo Taminiau, Delft University of Technology, Delft, The Netherlands, for his fundamental contributions to nano-optics and quantum information science through the control of solid-state quantum emitters and spins.


TaminiauBrief Biography

Tim Hugo Taminiau is a tenure-track group leader at QuTech at the Delft University of Technology, where he studies quantum physics, quantum information and sensing based on electronic and nuclear solid-state defect spins. He graduated from the University of Twente in 2005 and obtained a Ph.D. at the Institut de Ciències Fotòniques (ICFO) in Barcelona. In his Phd thesis, he studied metallic nano-particles acting as antennas for optical quantum emitters. Before returning to the Netherlands as a Marie Curie fellow in 2011, Tim investigated optically active defects at the California Institute of Technology and Brown University.


“Applied Aspects”

The 2015 Fresnel Prize for applied aspects is awarded to Daniele Brida,  University of Konstanz, Konstanz, Germany, for the development of broadly tunable few-optical-cycle laser sources and their application in the investigation of primary photo-induced processes in condensed matter systems.
BridaBrief Biography
Daniele Brida was born in May 1982 in Italy. He completed his studies at Politecnico di Milano where he obtained the PhD in physics in 2010. Since then he was appointed assistant professor at the Physics department of Politecnico di Milano and later joined University of Konstanz first as visiting scientist (2010-2011) and later as leader (since September 2012) of a research group funded by the Emmy Noether program of the DFG. He is also Zukunftskolleg fellow in the framework of the German excellence initiative.
His main scientific interests are the generation of broadband optical pulses ranging from UV to the THz spectral region, their temporal compression down to few optical cycles with adaptive techniques and the passive stabilization of the carrier envelope phase. He also applies the ultrashort pulses to condensed-matter spectroscopy with extreme temporal resolution. For example, Daniele studied coherent phonons in nanotubes and carotenoids, charge transfer in polymers and electronic dynamics in metals, semiconductors and strongly correlated materials.
Fundamental Aspects Applied Aspects


Yu-Ao Chen
National Laboratory for Physical Sciences at Microscale and Dept of Modern Physics, University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, P.R. China

"for his outstanding achievements in the fields of multi-photon entanglement, quantum communication, quantum simulation based on manipulation of photons and atoms".

Gerasimos Konstantatos
The Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO), Castelldefels (Barcelona), Spain

"for his salient contributions to the science and technology of solution-processed quantum dots and their applications to a variety of optoelectronic devices with ground-breaking performances".



Philip Walther
University of Vienna, Austria
"for his outstanding achievements in the rapidly evolving field of photonic quantum computation and quantum simulation". 

Christelle Monat
Ecole Centrale de Lyon (ECL), France
"for her pioneering contributions in slow light nonlinear optics, photonic crystal microlasers and applications".  


Thomas Kippenberg
ETH Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
"for his research in ultra-high Q microresonators for optical frequency combs generation and for studying optomechanical phenomena". 

Romain Quidant 
The Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO), Castelldefels (Barcelona), Spain
"his work on engineering plasmon properties of metallic nanostructures to extend optical concepts and photonic functionalities down to the nanometer scale".


Markus Aspelmeyer
University of Vienna, Austria
"for his outstanding achievement in the fields of entanglement, quantum communication and quantum physics and nano-mechanical devices".

Jérôme Faure
Ecole Polytechnique-ENSTA-CNRS, Palaiseau, France
"for the application of high field lasers to laser plasma accelerators".


Jian-Wei Pan
Dept of Physics, University of Technology, China
"for his pioneering works on experimental demonstration of quantum teleportation, entanglement swapping, entanglement purification and multi-photon entanglement".


Fetah Benabid
Dept of Physics, University of Bath, UK
"for his pioneering work on the development of hollow core photonic crystal fibres and their application in laser-guidance of particles and ultra-low threshold stimulated Raman scattering in molecular gases".


Kjeld Eikema
Laser Centre, Dept of Physics & Astronomy Vrije Univesiteit, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
"for his production of pulsed narrowband tunable extreme UV laser radiation, and its application to accurately determine the Lamb shift in helium, and for production of cw Lyman-a laser radiation applied to spectroscopy of atomic hydrogen".

Stefano Longhi
Dipartimento di Fisica, 
Politecnico di Milano, Italia 
"For his outstanding contributions to optics and photonics, especially for the developments of new ideas and techniques for laser pulse generation, manipulation and control at ultrahigh-repetition-rates using photonic grating structures".


Carlo Sirtori
Thales France
"for his outstanding and pioneering contribution to the birth and expansion of unipolar optoelectronics, in particular the plasmon enhanced waveguide and the first realisation of GaAs based quantum cascade lasers". 

Rüdiger Paschotta
ETH-Zürich, Switzerland
"for outstanding contributions to ultrafast all-solid-state lasers by pushing the frontiers in average power and pulse repetition rates by orders of magnitude".


Konrad Banaszek
Centre for Quantum Computation, 
Oxford, UK 
"For his outstanding contributions to our understanding of non-classical light and its application in quantum information processing, especially advancing our understanding of highly correlated \u201cbi-photons\u201d \u2013pairs of highly correlated photons such as those produced by down-convertors".

Ronald Holzwarth
Max Planck-Institute for Quantum Optics, Garching, Germany
"for pioneering and revolutionary new technique to measure the frequency of light with extreme precision. The complex harmonic laser frequency chains of the past can now be replace by a simple compact mode-locked femtosecond laser"


Fabien Bretenaker

Laboratoire de Physique des Lasers 
CNRS/Université de Rennes I, France 
"For outstanding research in fundamental optical physics and multi-axis cavities leading to the demonstration of a two-frequency tuneable laser".

Arnaud Brignon
Thomson CSF, Laboratoire Central de Recherches, Orsay, France
"for outstanding research in the control of laser beam quality using non-linear interactions in the gain medium and in photorefractive crystals".





Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: