you are here: Home QEOD Prizes  
Document Actions


The Quantum Electronics and Optics division (QEOD) of the European Physical Society (EPS) distributes prestigious Prizes:

The EPS-QEOD Quantum Electronics Prizes:

These are the two senior EPS/QEOD prizes (one for fundamental, one for applied aspects) awarded for outstanding contributions to quantum electronics and optics.

These prestigious prizes in Quantum Electronics and Optics awarded only once every two years, recognize the highest level of achievements in fundamental and applied research in optical physics. The next awards will be presented in a special Plenary Ceremony on Tuesday, June 22, 2021 (08:30 - 10:30am CET time) during the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics Europe (CLEO®/Europe) and the European Quantum Electronics Conference (EQEC) to be held virtually.

View information on the past recipients

The Fresnel Prizes:

These are the two EPS/QEOD Prizes awarded for outstanding contributions to quantum electronics and optics made by young scientists before the age of 35 (as of December 31st, 2021). There is one Prize for fundamental aspects and one for applied aspects.

The EPS QEOD Thesis Prizes:

Since 2007 up to four EPS/QEOD Thesis prizes are also awarded to reward excellence in PhD research and scientific communication in the area of quantum electronics and optics relating to PhD thesis work submitted in the two years prior to the conference. These Prizes are awarded for fundamental and applied aspects.


Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: